WLAX: Wildcats Voted The 2017 Favorites To Repeat As NEAC Champions.

WLAX: Wildcats Voted The 2017 Favorites To Repeat As NEAC Champions.

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. - The defending North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) champion SUNY Poly women's lacrosse team has been voted number one in the NEAC's annual preseason poll as voted by the conference's coaches.

The Wildcats had a record-breaking season in 2016. The team went 13-4 overall and 8-1 in the NEAC. The Wildcats won the NEAC Championship over Cazenovia, qualifying for the programs first appearance in the NCAA Division III Championship tournament.

The Wildcats return their top two scorers for the 2017 season, Krysta Beha (Marcy, N.Y.) and Mari Ames (West Carthage, N.Y.). Both Krysta and Mari finished last season with 86 points. Beha had 57 goals and 29 assists. Ames had 47 goals and 39 assists.  

The Wildcats have a solid core of returning players on both sides of the ball. On defense the Wildcats return Cassandra Campion () who manned the middle of the field for the Wildcats last season and two-way midfielder Corrina Marconi () who was top five on the team in caused turnovers, groundballs, and points.

The Wildcats will open their season on March 11th at Houghton, a team that the Wildcats have never played. The Wildcats home opener will be on Tuesday March 21st against Sage. The Wildcats are 2-0 against Sage in prior competitions. They have outscored the Gators 34-7.


Rank      Institution (First-Place Votes)    Total Points

1              SUNY Polytechnic (7)                      78

2              Morrisville State College (3)         75

3              Cazenovia College                            64

4              Medaille College                               53

5              Keuka College                                    51

6              Lancaster Bible College                  45

7              Bryn Athyn College                          30

8              Wells College                                     24

9              Penn State Abington                       21

10           Hilbert College                                  9


The NEAC release announcing the pre-season poll results can be found HERE